THAT IS HOW IT HAPPENED

It was peak of the season, lazy hot summers lingered.  The pale of the sea sweeping the waves, a million times over, as the sun sets its’ golden yellow glow, along the sandy beaches to a far away place.

 

They felt lost almost in isolation, freeing themselves from the crowd, to be alone once more, before the departure.   Looking out far beyond the neighbouring island along the horizons of the shore, he felt her hand touch his, longing to do more than he could, he daren’t for fear of the consequences. 

 

The sky still remained blue in the orange lit horizon from the setting of the sun, the air warm and humid; a slight breeze can be felt.  The music can be heard in the far distance, with the muffled voices laughing and talking.

 

She looked away from him towards the direction of the sea

BRIAN

I’m going to miss you, you do know that?

CLAIRE

It’s not the end of the world, there will be others

BRIAN

It wouldn’t be the same with out you

CLAIRE

You talk as though I’m going away for good

BRIAN

Well, it seems that way

CLAIRE

I’m sure you’ll be fine

BRIAN

Let’s just take one last walk together in silence

CLAIRE

What’s got into you?

BRIAN

I have something I need to say to you

CLAIRE

What is it?

BRIAN

I don’t know how you will take it

CLAIRE

Just say whatever is on your mind, I’m sure it can’t be all that bad

BRIAN

Let’s just walk along this beach in silence

CLAIRE

O k

BRIAN

What’s wrong now?

CLAIRE

You’ve got me worried

BRIAN

I don’t want to do that, honestly

CLAIRE

I think I should be setting off

BRIAN

Not yet, not just yet

CLAIRE

I must

BRIAN

Can I see you later?

CLAIRE

I don’t know…I’m not sure…oh let me go now I need to think

Claire runs off without looking back, leaving Brian facing the rushing waves, alone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

